A New York Minute

IMG_2825

The Brooklyn Bridge – taken during my first few days in the city

So much happens in this city in such a short period of time, which is one of the things I love about it. I’ve been living in NYC for over four months now, and below is what I’ve learnt (so far).

  • Network with everyone: This past week I quit three jobs, stopped having to work 7 days a week, and started as a Production Assistant at Transistor Studios. I’m so happy to be back in the industry, full time and paid. I’d been applying for industry jobs since I arrived, and I got this one through a friend that I met in April. LinkedIn can also be very helpful, and I wish I started using it earlier on.
  • Trust your instincts: If something doesn’t feel right, then it probably isn’t. My first apartment, an hour away in an area I didn’t like at all, is an example of this. However…
  • Try things that are out of your comfort zone: Like constantly following up on industry connections, going to parties alone, and online dating. You never know who you’ll meet!
  • Packing: Bring sweaters over kimonos and your old heavy laptop over everything else. This will save you money when you arrive and need to apply for jobs. Learn from my mistakes! Also, packing everything inside your suitcase into smaller fabric bags will make your life so much easier, especially when it’s laundry day!
  • Packing continued: During my first few months I’d bring a map (incase my phone ran out of battery) and water (incase I couldn’t justify spending any more money), and it made walking around and getting lost a lot less stressful.
  • Research: Before leaving I researched a few companies I might want to work for, however I applied for those within a few days. I knew I was moving countries for months, so I wish I started a list (which I now have) of all the production and media companies in New York. Even Googling “top media companies in NYC” helped.
  • Shoes: Buy good walking shoes! The first few days I was here I went from wearing rip off Chucks from China to New Balances, and my life changed for the better.
  • Take photos of everything: Even during my loneliest moments of living in such a massive city, I always found that going for a walk and taking photos of my surroundings made me feel better.
  • Save, save, save: After moving, I felt like no matter how much I saved it never would have been enough. When everything is new and exciting, and when you’re also homesick, it’s easy to get swept up in the city and constantly go out. If I got a job straight away then this would have been okay (for a while), however that was not the case. I wish I started in hospitality as soon as I arrived, just so I wasn’t as stressed when rent was due.
  • Don’t forget your roots: This is obvious, but keeping in touch with family and friends from home helps you deal with the challenges that can come up day to day. Also, if you apply for New Zealand and Australian owned companies, it makes the interview process way easier because they know the work ethic that we have.
  • Don’t forget Marmite: It doesn’t have to be Marmite (obviously), but don’t forget to bring the small things you love from home. I miss Kumera, Anchor milk and thinly sliced Vogels the most, but they’re a bit too difficult to send over.

Leave a comment