(Not) Savage Beauty

The closest I'll get to an Alexander McQueen exhibiton.

The closest I’ll get to an Alexander McQueen exhibiton.

There are many great museums and galleries in London, and what makes them even greater is that general admission is free. But there was one exhibition, at the V&A that I HAD TO SEE AND ENDS ON SUNDAY!!!!

Savage Beauty – an exhibition about the late, great, Alexander McQueen. As the show has been so popular they opened it up to be 24 hours for the last few weeks. I bought my ticket with one of the few remaining time slots being 2.45am on a Sunday morning. I thought it could be a cool adventure.

The tube is also a great thing about London, except it stops at about 12.30am. So I had my two buses planned so I could get to V&A early (as queueing time was expected). The first bus, from my usual stop, came right on time. I landed in Trafalgar Square with about an hour and a half to spare, the next part of the journey was going to take about 40 minutes.

I waited for my second bus. And waited. I started to get a bit worried, it was not too late for me to walk there, I had to get on this bus. Should I catch an Uber? It’s Saturday night, I’ll never get one in time.

After waiting an hour, with no bus, I knew it was time to turn around and carry my sorry self back home as NO LATECOMERS ADMITTED. (With a chocolate bar stop at Tesco obviously – Cadbury with Daim if you were interested…)

So I can’t tell you what the exhibition is like. I’m sure it’s great.

I did email to explain my sad situation and see if they could put me on another day, which they couldn’t. But I did get a refund, always pays to ask!

On my next day off, I went back to the V&A to look around, and I think I say this about every museum I go to, but it’s one of my favourites. I found it really different to most of the others, with it being predominantly design based.

I took my go pro, I took some photos. I still feel a bit sad about the whole ordeal.

A set up of Kylie Minogue's dressing room. I have the musical taste of a gay man.

A set up of Kylie Minogue’s dressing room. I have the musical taste of a gay man.

I people watched from up here like a little creep for a while.

I people watched from up here like a little creep for a while.

The Raphael Room - I actually didn't realise I had walked around this whole room with my mouth gaping open.

The Raphael Room – I actually didn’t realise I had walked around this whole room with my mouth gaping open.

Projections onto the ceiling in the fashion history section.

Projections onto the ceiling in the fashion history section.

On another note, I have a flat! Go Lorn! East London 4 LYFE xo

Leave a comment